Skip to content

Roaring 20, 2012


Inside Business and Cherry, Bekaert & Holland LLP are excited to announce this year’s winners of the Roaring 20 awards program, honoring 20 of Hampton Roads’ most dynamic businesses. The Roaring 20 award not only highlights the region’s fastest-growing companies, but also shares stories of determination, perseverance and fortitude.

As sponsors of these awards for the last three years, we are consistently impressed by the winners’ achievements, no matter the economic circumstance. Their steadfast commitment to success is an exceptional model for our community.

For a company to be eligible for the Roaring 20 award, they needed to be headquartered in the Hampton Roads area and established prior to FY 2009, realized gross revenues of at least $2 million in 2011 and experienced three years of growth. After nominations were submitted to Inside Business, CB&H conducted short interviews with the finalists and verified financial data.

All of the information was then provided to an advisory panel who selected this year’s Roaring 20. We would like to thank the following panelists for their willingness to participate in the Roaring 20 awards:

• Leroy Abrahams – President and CEO, SunTrust Bank, Hampton Roads.
• Stephen R. Davis – Partner, Willcox Savage PC.
• Brian K. Skinner – President, TowneBank – Peninsula.
• Barbara L. Smith – Partner, Cherry, Bekaert & Holland LLP.
• Gilbert R. Yochum, Ph.D. – Dean, College of Business and Public Administration, Old Dominion University

Thank you to all of the nominees for making the third year of this awards program a success. We are happy to recognize this year’s Roaring 20 and wish them only continued success into the future.

Kurt W. Taves, CPA
Managing Partner, Hampton Roads Practice and Tax Services
Cherry, Bekaert & Holland LLP

– Carol Lichti, Editor of Inside Business

Scroll down to meet the honorees.